And the award-winner is…… Me!

Time to crack open the champagne! My thanks to “I’m that Kay”, who nominated me for the Liebster Blog Award. Her fabulous blog is here.

LIEBSTER-BLOG-AWARD

I’ll follow the instructions carefully, avoiding the wild, secret desire to say “Leessen veri kairefoully, a shall sai zees only wanse”, “Allo Allo” style. Oops, just did it.

My 11 nominations:

http://yarntwoyarn.wordpress.com/

http://perpetually-in-transit.blogspot.fr/

http://maternalmayhem.com/

http://deborahandbrendanbuilding.blogspot.co.uk/

http://www.sarahhague.com/

http://chroniclesofserbia.wordpress.com/

http://ivynettle.wordpress.com/

http://inanortherntown.wordpress.com/

http://burbujachica.wordpress.com/

http://no1queenie.wordpress.com/

http://rarasaur.wordpress.com/

11 Facts About Me:

1. I could talk the hind leg off a donkey. My father aptly christened this aptitude “verbal diahorrea” when I was in my early teens, and told me I would never be paid for talking. I took up the challenge, and taught English as a foreign language in France for many years. My students are no doubt still getting over the experience.

2. I have a virtual me who knows exactly how to balance work, family and leisure activities. She’s also the one who works out at the gym on a regular basis, says “no” with a reprimanding voice when she is offered peanuts and crisps, does not gun for a second glass of wine and does not burp when she finishes her alcohol-free beer. As I find her exceedingly boring, I have put her in the virtual freezer and got on with life without her – it’s so much more fun being disorganised.

3. I am not scared of mice, rats or snakes but scream the place down if I see a cockroach. This has been the case since I was stalked down by an evil Tahitian cockroach the size of a dinner plate (ok, a little bit smaller…). I was found in my underwear on the kitchen bar, throwing limes and screaming insults at it as it lined up maliciously for the final kill. Cockroaches are evil maniacs in disguise, plotting to suck our brains out with drinking straws then take over the world. Honest.

4. I am a serial day-dreamer, and often write entire posts for my blog as I drive from A to B. I now need some kind of new technology to simultaneously type it all on my laptop as I think.

5. I love playing with Playmobils. Little My doesn’t like playing with me because she thinks I go over the top, and considers that my starkly realistic scenarios have no place in Playmobilia. My friend’s three-year-old was gentler, kindly explaining that in France you don’t find Monty Python-style killer rabbits in medieval castles. He vetoed my princess in the tower as well as her dungaree-clad mother who was climbing a ladder to save her. Kids can be such boring conformists…

A typical example of my playmobil efforts.

A typical example of my playmobil efforts.

6. I can’t stand being around people who thrive on negativity and spend their time whingeing about things that they can do something about but don’t. I think it’s because they’re scared nobody will listen to them if they have nothing to complain about. Rule of thumb: I’ll tell you once, I’ll tell you twice, then you’re on your own, buddy.

7. Give me a packet of peanuts and I’ll be your friend forever.

8. The place I am happiest is the Alsace region of France. We left there two and a half years ago, and every time I go back there I feel so happy I could bust. I miss my friends there more than I could ever have imagined, and when I get back to see them I become a human limpet and hug them so hard their eyes practically pop out.

9. The best things in life are free, at least in my book. I’m fascinated by nature, colours, smells, people, emotions and generally everything that crosses my path.  I think that many people look for happiness in the wrong places.

10. I have played the flute since I was 11 years old. I won’t win any competitions but I still play regularly.

11. I suffer from MCWS: Mature Cheddar Withdrawal Symptoms. Even if I am lucky enough to live in a country that boasts a cheese for every day of the week, I dream of a huge block of cheddar in my fridge.

11  answers to 11 questions:

What made you decide to start a blog? I have always liked reading and writing, and was brought up in a TV–free home crammed full of books. Last year I needed to do something just for me, and blogging seemed the obvious solution as I can not only write, but read and interact with other bloggers. As I said, the best things in life are free.

Favorite meal ever? Most definitely a huge platter of cheese, crunchy baguette and a bottle of Pic St Loup red wine in good company.

If you invented a time machine, where/when would you go? Hmm, tough one. I don’t believe in reliving your life (been there, seen that….) so I reckon it’d have to be the 1940’s so I could have a bash at being Rita the Riveter.

Rita the Riveter

Rita the Riveter

What’s the top thing on your bucket list? Writing a book. Nuff said.

Favorite movie? The Wizard of Oz. I tried to do the Judy Garland pout for years, melodramatically singing “Somewhere over the rainbow” to a stuffed toy because we didn’t have a Toto. I never succeeded. I love the bit when we get to see the wicked witches feet poking out from under the house. Oh, and the evil trees lobbing apples around. Oh, and the …. STOP.

What’s a bad habit that you have? Ah. Um…. (M.M looks through extremely long list…). I say “Yes, just a minute” when my kids ask me something, then get irritated when I ask them something and they reply in the same way.

Do you have an idol?  Someone you really look up to or that has influenced your life in some way? I’m a huge fan of Winston Churchill – not only for his political prowess, but also for his wit and scathing humour. I am hoping to meet him in the afterlife, along with Kermit’s nephew Robin (‘Halfway down the stairs” is my favourite song ever).

What is your guilty pleasure? Peanuts. I’m not allowed to eat them any more because of my cholesterol level, but I can’t resist them from time to time.

Favorite colour? Red. Vibrant, warm, red.

Dream job? The one I have – translator, scientific copy-editor and supermum.

Last thing that made you laugh until you cried? The last one I can remember was when PF lit the barbecue and put too much lighter fluid in. It could have been horrific, but he got away with a singed fringe and a sooty black face – except for two white circles where his glasses had been. He looked like something off a Tex Avery cartoon, and even thinking about the expression on his face that day still makes me giggle.

Lastly, here are the questions for the nominees:

What’s your favourite smell?

Where would you like to go if you had an all-expenses paid trip?

What was your favourite book when you were little?

Sweet or savoury?

You have a evening just for you. What do you do?

Beach or lake?

You can only take one thing with you on a desert island… What do you choose?

What do you look for in a blog?

One thing you can’t stand.

One thing that makes you happy.

You have to give up one thing. What would your biggest sacrifice be?

23 thoughts on “And the award-winner is…… Me!

  1. I just have to tell you that I love your fact #9 and agree completely. And also I love your answer to the last question. I imagine that was quite a sight! 🙂

    • Thanks! the older I get, the more certain I am that humanity is losing sight of the beauty of basics. I’m glad I’m not alone… As for the last question, I don’t think I’ve ever laughed as hard as I did that day!

  2. When The BB wakes up I shall play the video clip. (The space that is my office is next to our bedroom.) I haven’t seen Kermit’s nephew before.
    I had never really believed those scenes in tv shows and movies where a character does as your husband did. Now I know.

  3. En réponse au n°1 : on ne s’en remet jamais vraiment… car on n’en a pas envie ! Au contraire on en redemande !! La preuve : j’adore ce blog et ai hâte de te revoir 😉

  4. I hope I get to meet you some time. You’re just my type (in a totally non-creepy or stalkerish sense…)! 🙂

    #2 – me too. I sometimes try to live up to expectations but generally get bored after about half an hour.
    #4 – you need a hands-free dictaphone on your phone. 🙂
    #5 – evil! I like it!!
    #6 – me too. No nagging (well, except my kids because they have maturing adolescent brains that are programmed to forget instantly any instruction apart from ‘you may take money from my purse’. That one never gets overlooked… strange).

    • We do indeed have a lot in common, judging by the blogs…. Could we be the new Thelma and Louise British duo that will terrorise the south of France? Mouhahahaaaa 🙂 I have concluded that French people who share the British sense of humour are actually few and far between; most of my Playmobil masterpieces were greeted with stunned silence from other parents. The advice “petez un bon coup et décoincez vous” (“fart and loosen up”, for non-French speakers) didn’t improve things much. Glad to know I’m not the only person who can’t be bothered to be Wonder Woman. Oh, and we seem to have similar teenagers, too……

  5. I did enjoy this and so agree with your 9th fact, especially as it relates to books and blogging. I’m also fascinated by your obvious devotion to an area of France we hardly ever hear about in the expat press and other coverage. Obviously your friends are the main draw, but I’d love to know what its other attractions are for you.

    Thank you very much for nominating me, but I hope you’ll understand if i don’t do a follow-on post this time, as I was given the Liebster back in January 2012, when its requirements weren’t quite as detailed as today. 🙂 http://perpetually-in-transit.blogspot.co.uk/2012/01/pleasure-of-sharing.html

    • Hello there Perpetua 🙂 First and foremost, I hope that you have been able to put the wellies away and pick up the socks again! Thanks for your comments, and I understand your position on the award, no worries!
      I will be posting about the Alsace at some point. It is a wonderful region, which was historically marked by Franco-German conflicts. It’s not seen to be as “sexy” as stars like Paris, the Cote d’Azur and the Hérault by expats, maybe because it’s nowhere near the sea and the winters are rigorous, to say the least. The region is home to the stork, rolling plains, majestic vineyards, castle ruins, fabulous gastronomy, and above all, a population who are proud of their region and are extremely sincere and welcoming. Leaving the Alsace was the hardest move I have ever made.

  6. Thanks – will post something later this week.
    Realised that I only have two bloggers that are up and coming and I really rate!
    Not sure if that is a disqualification but will post anyway – loved thinking about the answers to questions and making-up questions…!

  7. Finally finding the time to comment here – thank you for the nomination! I’m not sure I can come up with 11 blogs to pass the award along to, but maybe I’ll come up with 11 random facts and answers to your questions – 11 is my favourite number after all, so it would be quite appropriate. 😉

  8. Thank you for the nomination!! I’ll try and nominate as many as I can. I’ve been slowly gaining momentum in my reading and blogging but it’s in between the mayhem of course and so seems to take me a hell of a lot of time! Love your blog – make me chuckle!

      • Hi there, Miss Mahem! No obligation to nominate 11 blogs, it’s up to you 😉 I do like the “it make me chuckle”, sounds very Doctor Evil-like. I’m most honoured to fill up some of your precious leisure time; little ones don’t leave much room for what I called “me time”.

  9. Thanks for nominating me! Not quite sure what I need to do! But I’m guessing I need to answer the questions and nominate 11 blogs! Is that right? If so I will get straight on to it x

  10. Pingback: And the award goes to…. | Queenie

  11. Pingback: ♥♥♥♥♥ | rarasaur

Leave a Reply

