Lost in the details: Never judge a book by its cover.

This week’s photo challenge asks bloggers to take a photo, then pay attention to the detail of the picture.

Last spring, I did just that.  I spotted this dandelion in a field. A plain old dandelion, scraggy and forlorn in the middle of a field of wild grass. Poppies jostled for attention all around, brazenly flashing their postbox red petals in the breeze as passers by admired their flamboyant, ephemeral beauty.

IMG_7502

Just a plain old dandelion……

I ignored the poppies, and pushed through the grass.  I knelt down to look through my camera zoom, and discovered the hidden beauty of the humble dandelion. I was greeted by golden, silky softness. Smooth, light, glossy cups, intricately spun like spiders webs, that sparked off my imagination with scenes of elves and fairies, sleeping safely in the unlikely haven of a plain old dandelion as the breeze gently rocked their silken cocoon….. The lesson learned that day was simple: Never judge a book by its cover.

...until you look close.

…until you look close.

24 thoughts on “Lost in the details: Never judge a book by its cover.

  1. I want your camera.

    Actually, no I don’t, I wouldn’t know what to do with it. Best you keep it and then I can admire your lovely piccies. 🙂

    • LOL! If I can use it then anyone can… I’m sure it can do lots more exciting things like doing the washing up, cleaning the loo and filling in tax forms, but I haven’t had time to read the booklet yet- I’ve only had the camera for two years, after all…..

Leave a Reply

