Risk of Collapse…..

Now this photo challenge grabbed me straight away: Sara Rosso invited photographers to share a picture of a sign, and explain why they used it.

I knew what picture would be just the ticket! This sign stopped me dead in my tracks as I swung around the corner of path winding through a botanical garden on the Côte d’Azur last summer. Ten feet further away on the right of the picture is a cliff overhanging the Med.

The sign post translates into English as follows: “Risk of collapse”. I couldn’t work out whether a sadistic garden employee had it deliberately planted it skew-whiff to scare off visitors, or whether the sign had been irresistibly drawn towards the cliff edge, fatally drawn by the death-threat written on its forehead……..

Needless to say, I didn’t hang about. But first I took the picture of the first inanimate object that unambiguously showed how I often feel …… as a working mother 😀

IMG_9023

 

47 thoughts on “Risk of Collapse…..

    • Hello, Janet, and welcome! (Uh oh, that makes me sound like my blog is some kind of sect, or Alcoholics Anonymous, which it’s not. I’m a little unhinged, but I’m harmless.) Where was I…? Oh, yes. I do, too, it makes life so much fun when signs distort the message they convey!

    • 😀 Oooooh, yes. Maybe he should use my picture for his next report? You know, to illustrate those unemployment figures that were supposed to be rocketing skywards instead of leaping off the cliff like lemmings without rubber rings… Thanks for the link to the fly in the web, by the way- great writing!

  1. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: THE SIGN SAYS… | The Adventures of Iñigo Boy

  2. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Signs (Brevet du 7 Cols Ubayens) | What's (in) the picture?

    • Murky Bukets, Kathryn. And very very very big hugs for the comment on the expat’s competition (it looks like your style of writing): apart from the lovely content (that meant I couldn’t fit my fat head through the kitchen door and will suffer from writer’s block because I’m scared I’ll disappoint you all now), you won me the prize for the best reader comment! HUGS xx

  3. There was no such a sign last Tuesday when I “collapsed, cul par-dessus tête”, for a 20 meter- chute at the Pont-du-Duc quarry…
    Papounet.

  4. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: The Sign Says (bicycles go where?) | What's (in) the picture?

  5. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: The Sign Says (bicycles go where?) | What's (in) the picture?

  6. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: The Signs Says | blogagaini

  7. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: The Signs Say (My Name! Well, almost) | What's (in) the picture?

  8. I believe it was probably a local joker who thought “I’ll show effondrement” and gave it a good kick. Or a drunk who knocked it over and was prevented from diving over the cliff not far away as a result, and didn’t right it so it could be a reminder to him each time he passed… 🙂

  9. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: The Sign Says | Pilot Fish

  10. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: The Sign Says (What happened to faith?) | What's (in) the picture?

  11. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: The Sign Says (Puerto de las Palomas) | What's (in) the picture?

  12. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: The Sign Says – The Trulli | Bastet and Sekhmet

  13. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: The Sign Says (Sign Revisited) | What's (in) the picture?

  14. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: The Sign Says – last trial | Bastet and Sekhmet

Leave a comment