With love.

Papounet and Little My, summer 2012.

Papounet and Little My, summer 2012.

“All men have stars, but they are not the same things for different people. For some, who are travelers, the stars are guides. For others they are no more than little lights in the sky. For others, who are scholars, they are problems… But all these stars are silent. You-You alone will have stars as no one else has them… In one of the stars I shall be living. In one of them I shall be laughing. And so it will be as if all the stars will be laughing when you look at the sky at night..You, only you, will have stars that can laugh! And when your sorrow is comforted (time soothes all sorrows) you will be content that you have known me… You will always be my friend. You will want to laugh with me. And you will sometimes open your window, so, for that pleasure… It will be as if, in place of the stars, I had given you a great number of little bells that knew how to laugh.”

Antoine de Saint-Exupéry, The Little Prince

The Weekly Photo Challenge this week is entitled Gone, But Not Forgotten. This post is in loving memory of Papounet, who would have been eighty years old today.

46 thoughts on “With love.

  1. “And when your sorrow is comforted …. you will be content that you have known me” – a beautiful line and a well chosen piece to pay tribute to a person who obviously held a very special place in your heart ❤

      • You just made me remember a photo I have of my own father-in-law’s old & wrinkled hands next to my young son’s many years ago…my father-in-law passed away two years ago at the ripe old age of 97. He was a real character … I’m now sitting thinking of lots of happy memories and I’m conscious that maybe I don’t do enough to keep him near. I’m going to look out that photo and frame it! Thanks again MM for sharing your thoughts with us all.

  2. Awww that was very touching. I’ve never read The Little Prince, can you believe it? But I think I should. Your photo is precious I love it. The quote reminded me of the not so recent book I’ve read — The Fault in our Stars — its very interesting.

    • Hi, Abi 🙂 Thank you. I recommend “the little Prince” – it can be read both as a children’s book and at a more philosophic level for adults.
      My daughter read “the fault in our stars”, and loved it so much that we went to watch the film. I cried my eyes out, and so did the rest of the audience.

  3. Ah, that’s beautiful. I love ‘The Little Prince’ and that quote is so fitting. Hope you were able to think of all your happy memories yesterday.

  4. Beautiful as always MM.
    That picture…
    Well …
    It tells a tale of great empathy/intimacy that extends beyond the flesh.
    (Ce que je tente de dire en anglais c’est que l’image évoque une ‘complicité’ céleste, qui dépasse le simple mortel.)

    • The two of them spent a lot of time sitting in Papounet’s armchair together and horsing around outside. The kids and Papounet taught each other a lot of things – and the kids now have a whole lorryload of love inside with his name on it. Hugs, Gypsy xxx

  5. I have been missing your blog so much and here i see you have been blogging for quite some time. Sending very belated hugs to you. I loved this post as it resonated greatly with me due to our huge loss of Daniel.

    • I know that it was the anniversary of his death recently – hugs coming right back attaché, girl. His mum is very lucky to have a friend like you.
      I’ve been a very erratic blogger since Papounet died – my heart wasn’t in it, and I really didn’t feel like writing the only thing I think I do well – funny stuff. Boxed myself into a corner, then got writer’s block. I’ve now accepted that if something has to be written to get it off your chest, then even f it isn’t the style readers are expecting, you have to write it anyway.

      • I so get this. I have tried at times to write something, anything that was not miserable of thought provoking after Daniel died. Something light. Anything. But until I cleared that which was occupying my heart I couldn’t move on. On occasions I did a reblog, of a lighter post just so I didn’t push my readers over the cliff. Thankfully time has helped and I don’t feel the same every day level of sadness I did. It;s freed up my writing too. Definitely I say, listen to your heart. xx

  6. Pingback: Will Never Forget | Flying On Empty Thoughts

Leave a Reply

