Great Grandma Barmcake.

I don’t usually reblog my old posts, but I’m making an exception today to say “Happy birthday” to Grandma, aka Great Grandma Barmcake, my no nonsense paternal grandmother who kept Manchester on its toes.

Multifarious meanderings

The most incongruous things spark off memories of people. In films, a piece of sappy music, a sunset or the smell of a flower stop the picture-perfect heroes in their tracks. None of the things that set me off down memory lane are particularly poetic, and they would be a total flop in a film scenario. Imagine Julia Roberts on screen, dramatically wiping back a tear and saying “I’m sorry, darling…… my emotions got the better of me. The sight of that slug reminded me of when I negotiated with my grandmother to bring my plastic ice cream tub of pet slugs into the house for the night”.

A limited number of simple things can catapult me headfirst into my childhood each and every time I see them. I think about Grandpop when I see an unusual postage stamp or a globe. My Grandad when I see a chocolate easter…

View original post 625 more words

15 thoughts on “Great Grandma Barmcake.

  1. I had to look up barmcakes. My dad, who came from Blackpuddle, called them baps and he loved them. A bacon bap was a big hit with him.

    I couldn’t believe that Vimto is still sold, so looked it up, and, to my immense surprise, found their website which is alive and well and full of FAQs!

    • Feeling old now, aren’t you 😉 Bacon baps are called bacon butties where I come from. Now I want a bacon butty, and my Mother-in-law’s fridge looks like the gobi desert.
      I was born in Lytham St Annes – within spitting distance of Blackpuddle!

      • Apparently the house I was born in has been demolished now. My mother is no doubt muttering that it’s a miracle I didn’t demolish it myself as a child. My dad was a teacher in Lytham at the time. in Lytham you don’t get “kiss me quick” hats like in Blackpuddle. I wuz robbed.

  2. Loved this the first time round and it’s still just as good, MM. 🙂 Oh yes, bacon butties, to add to the beloved chip butties. Haven’t had one of those for ages….

  3. She sounds utterly brilliant – a bit like my own Granny, though minus the Glasgow accent and tendency to enquire after her grandchildren’s love lives at top volume in public. And now I really want a chip butty.

    • She was. Your granny wanted to know about your love life? Wowsers! There’s a girl with her feet firmly on the ground. At least she couldn’t be accused of not being interesting in your life 🙂
      Now go and make yourself a chip butty! Chip butty cold turkey sufferers, unite….

  4. How are you? You haven’t posted for a while so I hope you are well. At last we are back in France, it has been a long time. Too long! Still no internet but will pop by when I can as usual. Xx

    • Hi there, sweetie. Thanks for popping by. I feel bad about my blog and my blogging pals – 2014 is turning out to be a bit of a bugger for MM and her gang, chucking successive challenges our way that are nibbling away at my time, my sense of humour, and even my waistline (which isn’t such a bad thing, I suppose). I’m determined to get something on the blog this week though – Watch MM transform into Gloria Gaynor. Oh non no I, I will survi-hive… Big hugs xoxo

Leave a Reply

