And the winner is…

The Expats jury is out, after careful reading and vote counting. MM has come out with a bronze award to pin on her blog – all thanks to you guys. Thank you for putting up with my belly button gazing and otherwise narcissistic nagging for attention. It could be explained by the fact that I never won any medals for sport at school (with the exception of my self-inflicted shame of the year award, when I managed a minus score on shot-putting).

So as promised, here are your Smarties.

English: Smarties

I am now off to battle with the hoover, and sniff out enough matching wine glasses for five people. Β I will try to get back to you before Christmas with a blockbuster on cooking for the French. Watch this space…

In the meanwhile, I wish you all a wonderful festive season. Love, laugh and make merry – and that’s an order!

Big nuggs

MM xxx

49 thoughts on “And the winner is…

  1. Congratulations!!!! Well done, very pleased for you! Sadly, no prize for me so I’m off to Waitrose to drown my sorrows in Heston mince pies… πŸ˜‰ have a wonderful Christmas!

    • I checked on yours, and I wanted to go and duff the jury up – you should have won something. You get the mince pies, AND Waitrose. I’m jealous – lucky you. I’m busy having an epic Wondeur Woomane fail – trying to find the champagne glasses, and am wondering if I didn’t bust them all last year 😦

  2. Hi MM,
    I told Mrs Sensible that you won bronze and told me to pass on “I am very happy for you, I hope this will make you even happier this Christmas” I then went down to the cold garage and kicked the green NHS box to wake Scooby Doo up and he said “Meow” And this Black Sheep says “Well done but I think you should have been awarded Gold”

    PN

    • Please say thank you to Mrs Sensible from me, and tell her that I hope we will be able to meet one day so that I can share my Smarties with her as promised. Meow to Scooby Doo. Bronze is good – it could have been a resounding raspberry πŸ™‚
      I am indeed a happy bunny, albeit a worried one because I don’t know what I’m supposed to do with the lobster tails I have in the freezer.

      • Mrs S said “olive oil, garlic, lobster tails and parsley, then throw in some brandy… pstchwooo and cook until done” I hope that makes some sense.

        She is a mean cook, bring them over here with the smarties and we can eat smarties and wine while Mrs S cooks.

      • I just read Mrs Socks and wondered if you had a new cat. I like recipes that involve alcohol and pchhwooo, i will give it a try πŸ˜‰ That Smarites thing reminds me of a joke Mrs Sensible will probably like:
        How many men does it take to make a chocolate mousse?
        Ten: one to make the mousse, and nine to peel the Smarties πŸ™‚

  3. Well done, you. I’ll pass on the smarties, but raise a glass to you in a few minutes as six of us hit the table for salad, mum’s quiche and fresh fruit. Hope all goes well for you all over the next few days. luv’nhugz

    • Thank you – I’m all of a fluster seeing the number of people who supported my entry πŸ™‚ Sure you don’t want a Smartie or two? Have a wonderful time. I’m thinking of you all (and the mince pies and the pints at the club and the roast with Yorkshire pud and and and and) lots and lots and lots and heaps and heaps. xxxxxxxxxxxxxx

  4. Congratulations !

    I’m off out for a meal in a bit and will raise a glass or two, or three, or maybe 4, to toast your success πŸ˜†

  5. SlΓ‘inte. Well done, great news. That’s a great end to your blogging year and a promising beginning to the next.
    I was thinking of you yesterday. A young swimmer gave me a load of sweets from France. You might think that is why I thought of you but no, it was the fact that they looked nice and my kids had their eye on them, so I told them they were liquors. Ha ha ha. It worked they didn’t touch them.

  6. You was robbed…..still, enjoy your Bronze!
    I’m looking forward to hearing about cooking for the French…family, are they?
    I’ve only ever had to cook for French friends….I have a feeling family might be trickier…

  7. Well done, MM. A nice extra decoration for the tree. πŸ™‚ Wishing you and your family a lovely, stress-free Christmas.

  8. Congratulations! If your bloggy friends could choose the judges It would have been gold! Isn’t it funny that MM chose M & M’s to thank her voting pals? I hope the seafood massacre went well and you are well on the way to lala land with visions of sugar plums dancing in your head by now.

  9. Congratulations MM!! That`s a very nice Christmas gift πŸ™‚
    Hope you celebrate extravagantly … partly because I want to hear about the story afterwards πŸ™‚

  10. Many congratulations on your award, and thank you for the Smarties! They went down a treat on top of all the other festive confectionary I have been consuming. I think I will need to swear off sweets and chocolates for January (well, the first week anyway πŸ™‚ )

  11. well done MM, you deserve it and more, your writing is so colourful, engaging, entertaining, imaginative and more! any books on the horizon? and can I pick just the blue smarties out of the pile please? πŸ˜‰

  12. Congratulations! I wondered and I am finally catching up! You deserved the gold ! Happy New Year to you all!

Leave a Reply

