Unconventional

I couldn’t resist this WordPress challenge. Describe unconventional love, and post a picture of something unconventional? Deal!

I’m a pretty unconventional person all round; many would argue that I am one can short of a six pack. In any case, my acute case of Peter Pan Syndrome (my term for never, ever wanting to grow up) makes life much more fun for a pretend grown-up (shhh, it’s our secret).

Typical Playmobil scenario when I play with Little My. Copyright Multifarious meanderings.

Typical Playmobil scenario when I play with Little My. Copyright Multifarious meanderings.

My most unconventional love is therefore for playing. Playing hard, playing fast, and above all, playing silly buggers (as my wonderful Mancunian Grandmother used to say). I love playingย Playmobils with my daughter, who sometimes rolls her eyes and tells me to grow up. But I won’t. Read more about the dark side of Playmobilia here.

My family is equally loopy: put them on a beach on Christmas Eve (the best time ever to flee conventions and play in the sand), and they’ll immediately find the only waylaid soldier’s helmet on the entire French coastline and combine it with a dustbin support on the beach to do something totally…. unconventional. I love it, and I love them.

Rugbyboy illustrating the "unconventional" family gene on a beach on Christmas Eve.

Rugbyboy illustrating the “unconventional” family gene on a beach on Christmas Eve.

19 thoughts on “Unconventional

  1. Being normal and grown up is so boring. Unconventional and keeping your youth is the best. Seeing the look of shock on the faces of the normal makes it that much sweeter! Rugby boy is freaking brilliant! Just yesterday here in Serbia, I saw an old man on a moped with one of those WWII helmets on…. I wanted to get a pic so bad just to prove it.

    • I’m glad someone isn’t scared of 44 year-olds who still play with figurines ๐Ÿ™‚ Rugby boy is a riot, from six in the morning to nine at night. Please please please get that pic- I’m laughing just imagining the scene!

    • Thank you! As for the Playmobil scenario…. You are a grown-up ๐Ÿ˜€ Go on, give alternative playtime a go, you’ll be hooked. There’s nothing like turning politically correct German figurines into real people, it’s refreshing!

  2. Love the playmobil scene! So nice to ‘meet’ another 44 year old who refuses to be 44! ๐Ÿ˜€ Rugby boy is brilliant, sounds a lot like my youngest son who’s 14… we have such a laugh sometimes just messing about! What a great find with that helmet too! ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. Growing up completely is MUCH over-rated, MM. Hold onto your childish streak – it makes life so much more fun for those around you. ๐Ÿ™‚ My almost 56 year-old youngest sister has just bought herself a dolls house and is having the most enormous amount of enjoyment decorating and furnishing it. Nothing like catching up with what you missed in your childhood.

    • What a great idea! I think I’ll take up sailing again, and go back to my Sunday morning treat of a packet of beef flavoured crisps followed by a bar of Bournville… oh, hang on a minute, I’m in France…. poo. With or without them, I still ain’t plannin’ on growin’ up. So there ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. Cool! I agree with Perpetua, growing up is over-rated.
    My boys like doing unconventional things with ordinary objects too. Last Christmas they took one of my mum’s Chinese warrior figures and an old Action Man and had them in a scene where Action Man pointed a gun at the warrior’s head whilst draped with gold party popper strands and another mantelpiece figure looked on. They took photos in various positions to make it all look real. ๐Ÿ™‚

    My bro makes figures out of party popper bodies at Christmas as we sit round the lunch/tea table endlessly being silly.

    Love the photo of RugbyBoy. My son would love to have that helmet too!

    • There are endless sources of amusement when you take an oddball view of everyday objects and make different worlds collide…. I hope your boys hang on to their original style! The helmet has been recovered and cleaned up for future farces. It was used for carnaval this year, and was approved of by all!

  5. You already know my thoughts on growing up, and I’m glad you’re teaching a whole new generation of humans that it is incredibly over-rated to be ordinary.

  6. “Many would argue that I am one can short of a six pack.” I chuckled at this tongue-in-cheek self-abasement.
    Jung spent some adult years playing with rocks as he had done as a child. It was very important for him (and the rest of us who value his insights). So, I reckon, if it’s good enough for him, it’s good enough for the rest of us.

Leave a Reply

